Cystic Fibrosis Bibb County Alabama Disability Lawyer

If you live in Bibb County* Alabama or anywhere in Central Alabama+ and you have been denied Social Security Disability benefits or SSI benefits related to a diagnosis of cystic fibrosis, don't give up. The fact is that the majority of claims for disability benefits in Alabama are initially denied.

Cystic fibrosis is a severe genetic disease which is often disabling due to the major effects on the lungs and the digestive system. In cystic fibrosis the function of the exocrine glands is impaired. Exocrine glands secrete substances outside of the body or into body cavities. Examples include the mucous glands lining the bronchial tree, sweat glands, and glands in the pancreas that secrete digestive enzymes.

The lung problem in cystic fibrosis results from bronchial mucus that cannot be adequately cleared from the airways. This excess mucus leads to coughing and sputum production sometimes with coughing up of blood (hemoptysis). Pneumonia and other lung infections are also a frequent problem.

Presently, there is no cure for cystic fibrosis.

When a claim for Social Security Disability Benefits or SSI benefits for Cystic Fibrosis is reviewed, the Social Security Administration will look at the medical tests performed on the claimant to determine the restriction on breathing based on FEV values and height and weight. Also, episodes of bronchitis or pneumonia or hemoptysis or respiratory failure requiring physician intervention at least once every 2 months or 6 times per year. Each inpatient hospitalization for longer than 24 hours counts as two episodes, and an evaluation period of at least 12 months is needed.

If you or someone you care about suffer with Cystic Fibrosis and have been denied disability benefits but believe that you are entitled to Social Security Disability benefits or SSI benefits because of your condition, don't give up; contact an experienced Alabama Social Security Disability attorney- Contact Powell and Denny

Powell and Denny: We Work When You Can't

Offices in Birmingham, AL and Huntsville, Alabama

+ includes the following Alabama counties: Cullman County, Autauga County, Marion County, Lamar County, Pickens County, Sumter County, Tuscaloosa County, Jefferson County, Shelby County, Fayette County, Winston County, Etowah County, Cherokee County, Randolph County, Coosa County, Tallapoosa County, Chambers County, Lee County, Blount County, Walker County, Hale County, Bibb County

* includes Brent, Centreville, Eoline, West Blocton, Woodstock, Green Pond, Marvel, Smith Hill, Six Miles, Ashby, Brierfield, Randolph, Lawley, Stotesville

Cystic Fibrosis Bibb County Alabama Disability Lawyer